Gemant Award Winners

The Andrew Gemant Award recognizes the accomplishments of a physicist who has made significant contributions to the cultural, artistic, or humanistic dimensions of physics.  A list of recipients follows:

Sean Carroll2014
Sean Carroll
California Institute of Technology

The 2014 Andrew Gemant Award is presented to Sean Carroll, a physicist at the California Institute of Technology, for extraordinary public outreach on particle physics and cosmology, as an educator, author, public lecturer, and consultant for TV and radio programs, and for his pioneering work communicating with a variety of international audiences using social networking.

Edwin Krupp2013
Edwin Krupp
Griffith Observatory

The 2013 Andrew Gemant Award was presented to Edwin C. Krupp, for 40 years of extraordinary public outreach and education through planetarium shows and programs, award-winning popular books, articles, television programs, exhibits, lectures and public events, as well as for his outstanding archaeoastronomical research, exploring the links between astronomy and ancient culture.

Lisa Randall
Harvard University

“The Gemant Award was envisioned to recognize those who can forge connections between art and science, and who can bring the excitement of discovery to the public,” said Catherine O'Riordan, AIP Vice President of Physics Resources. “Lisa Randall, through her artistry, creativity, and scientific credentials advances these goals like few others.”

Stephen Maran
American Astronomical Society

The 2011 Andrew Gemant Award was presented to Dr. Stephen Maran, for his extraordinary contributions to the public communication of astrophysics through popular books and articles for broad audiences, his mentorship of science writers, and his dedication to enhancing the dissemination of science news throughout the world.

View the presentation of the award and Dr. Maran's lecture, Tycho to Kepler: Four Centuries and More of Astronomy and the Media, at the 220th AAS meeting.

Daniel Altschuler
University of Puerto Rico

The 2010 Andrew Gemant Award was presented to Dr. Daniel Altschuler for his decades of work bringing the excitement and beauty of physics and astronomy to the 4 million people of Puerto Rico, through his creation of The Angel Ramos Foundation Visitor Center at the Arecibo Observatory, his books and his own translations of them into Spanish, and through his popular articles, blog, and workshops for teachers and journalists.

Altschuler has designated the UNESCO Chair for Peace Education in Puerto Rico to receive the portion of this award that goes towards furthering public communication of physics.

Brian Schwartz

he 2009 Andrew Gemant Award was presented to Dr. Brian Schwartz for ingenious creativity in engaging the public with the history and cultural aspects of physics and for inventing ways to celebrate physics through such varied vehicles as plays, musicals, exhibitions, street fairs, cabaret, posters, and opera. As cited by one of his nominators, Dr. Schwartz's qualifications for the Gemant Award "rise from the extraordinary to the unique." He has sustained this work and kept it fresh for more than two decades, reaching large audiences without sacrificing intellectual or artistic integrity.

John Rigden

The 2008 Andrew W. Gemant Award is presented to John S. Rigden for a lifetime of enlightenment of physicists and the public. As a teacher, researcher, scholar, writer and editor, he has been an Ambassador of good will for the physics community par excellence. Through his five books, 100+ editorials, numerous articles, 100+ public lectures and significant community service, he has interpreted and communicated physics to diverse audiences.

Rigden has designated the AIP Center for History of Physics to receive the portion of this award that goes towards furthering public communication of physics.

Andrew Fraknoi
Foothill College

The 2007 Andrew W. Gemant Award is presented to Andrew Fraknoi (of Foothill College in Los Altos, California and the Astronomical Society of the Pacific) for more than thirty years of effectively communicating his deep understanding and passion for physics and astronomy. His extraordinary contributions as a teacher, a public lecturer, co-author/editor of a syndicated astronomy newspaper column, host/producer of a weekly radio show and numerous guest appearances on national radio and TV are a testament to his tremendous breadth. His rare combination of skills has resulted in his being sought nationally and internationally as a spokesperson for physics, astronomy, the history of science and the connection of science to all human activities.

Marcia Bartusiak

The 2006 Award was presented to Marcia Bartusiak, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for a body of work that has won high praise from critics, scientists, and general audiences alike. Her books have been widely read, translated into four languages and have been especially successful in transmitting physics and astronomy to the public. Her reputation for detail and accuracy coupled with her clear writing and thorough understanding of the science and personalities behind the topic has made her an eloquent spokesman for what is important in science.

Dr. Hans Christian von Baeyer
The College of William and Mary

The 2005 Gemant Award was given to Professor Hans Christian von Baeyer of The College of William and Mary in recognition of his authorship of many highly acclaimed articles and books and his delivery of countless lectures that illustrate his dedication and ability to communicate physics to wide audiences.

His tremendous gift for science writing is reflected by prose that is crisp, captivating and illuminating. An accomplished theoretical physicist, his writings reflect such depth, passion and clarity that even the most scientifically naïve can’t help but care about science.

Dr. Alan Friedman
NY Hall of Science

Professor Brian Greene
Columbia University

Dr. Michael Riordan
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
Stanford University

Professor Lawrence Krauss
Department of Physics
Case Western Reserve University

James S. Trefil
George Mason University
Department of Physics

Paula Apsell

Stephen W. Hawking
University of Cambridge
Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics

Steven Weinberg
University of Texas
Department of Physics

Alan P. Lightman
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Center for Space Research

Robert R. Wilson
Cornell University
F.R. Newman Lab of Nuclear Studies

Spencer Weart
American Institute of Physics
Center for History of Physics

Abraham Pais
Rockefeller University
Department of Physics

Martin Aitken
Le Garret

Cyril Stanley Smith
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Jeremy Bernstein
Stevens Institute of Technology
Department of Physics and Engineering Physics

Gerald Holton
Harvard University
Department of Physics

Freeman T. Dyson
Institute for Advanced Study
School of Natural Sciences

Philip Morrison
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Physics