Tate Medal for International Leadership

Tate MedalAbout the Medal

Named for John Torrence Tate in honor of his service to the physics community, the Tate Medal recognizes non-US citizens for international leadership in physics, with an emphasis on leadership, statesmanship, and service to the physics community, as opposed to research achievement. Awarded every two years, it consists of a certificate, a bronze medal, and a $10,000 cash award.


  1. The award is for service to the profession of physics rather than for research accomplishment. Services that further international understanding and exchange are considered to be of primary importance. Examples might be the establishment or improvement of publications, the promotion or administration of joint research projects, or the operation of unusually successful international conferences. A citation on the accompanying certificate will state the particular service for which the award is made.
  2. The recipient is chosen by the Governing Board of the Institute on the recommendation of a committee appointed for the purpose.
  3. The medalist is expected to receive the award in person. Travel expense is reimbursed by the Institute.

Current Tate Medal winner

Jean Trân Thanh VânThe 2011 AIP Tate Medal for International Leadership in Physics has been awarded to Professor Jean Trân Thanh Vân in recognition of his role spanning more than four decades in bringing together the community of physicists across national and cultural borders through the Rencontres de Moriond and Rencontres de Blois, and for his tireless efforts to build a modern scientific community in Vietnam.

See past Tate Medal recipients.

Nomination process

The nomination period will open in early 2015. (Please check back for more information.)

Nominations are to be submitted in pdf format via email; include ALL information/attachments in one email:

  1. Letter of nomination
  2. Two letters supporting the nomination
  3. Curriculum vitae of the nominee
  4. Proposed citation for the award

Nomination material should be emailed to: the Award Committee Chair (TBD), and to the Assistant to Executive Director & CEO, Margaret Wiley (mwiley [at] aip [dot] org).

Contact information

Catherine O'Riordan, coriordan [at] aip [dot] org, Vice President, Physics Resources