If you are not immediately redirected, please click here
Löwdin, Per Olov, 1916-2000-
Oral history interview with Per Olov Löwdin, 1975 January 27.
Deals mainly with the establishment of the Winter conferences in quantum chemistry on Sanibel Island. Löwdin's work in quantum chemistry at University of Uppsala, Sweden and earlier visits to the U.S. (invitations by Hertha Spooner, Robert Mullikan, and John Slater) leads to an exchange program between University of Florida and Löwdin's Uppsala group. Löwdin moves to Gainesville, Fla. in 1959, on a part-time basis; the first winter conference at Casa Ybel on Sanibel Island. Comments on the Swedish summer institutes, especially Valadalen in 1958; Harrison Shull's role and the establishment of five-week-long winter institutes at Gainesville, supported by National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Office of Scientific Research of the U.S. Air Force. Basic themes: quantum chemistry and solid state theory, with later additions of quantum biology (Alberte and Bernard Pullman), quantum statistics and collision phenomena. Slater's view of the Sanibel conferences. Financial aspects of the conferences and institutes after NSF support ceases. Comments on the conference arrangements: selection of chairmen, panel members, participants and the honorary presidents: Egil Hylleraas, Robert Mullikan, John Slater, John Van Vleck, Henry Eyring, Edward Condon and L. H. Thomas, 1963-1975; publication of conference proceedings. The Nobel Prize: selection procedures of candidates. Also prominently mentioned are: Keith Brueckner, Enrico Fermi, Maria Goeppert Mayer, Erik Proskrauer; American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, Florida State University, International Journal of Quantum Chemistry, Sanibel Symposia, and U.S. Department of Defense.
Swedish Scientist (1916-2000). Professor, University of Uppsala (1960-1983) and in parallel at University of Florida (until 1993). A member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since 1969.
Brueckner, Keith A.
Condon, Edward Uhler, 1902-1974.
Fermi, Enrico, 1901-1954.
Löwdin, Per Olov, 1916-2000-
Mayer, Maria Goeppert, 1906-1972.
Slater, John Clarke, 1900-1976.
Van Vleck, J. H. (John Hasbrouck), 1899-
Academic Press.
University of Florida. Winter Institute.
Uppsala universitet.
National Science Foundation (U.S.)
American Institute of Physics.
American Physical Society.
Florida State University.
United States. Air Force. Office of Scientific Research.
Sanibel Symposia.
International journal of quantum chemistry.
Nobel Prizes.
Solid state physics.
Solid state physics -- History
Quantum statistics.
Collisions (Nuclear physics)
Oral histories. aat
Interviews. aat
Transcripts. aat
Sound recordings. aat
Eyring, Henry.
Hylleraas, Egil.
Proskrauer, Erik.
Pullman, Albert.
Pullman, Bernard.
Shull, Harrison.
Thomas, Llewellyn Hilleth.
Hoddeson, Lillian. interviewer.
American Institute of Physics. Niels Bohr Library & Archives. One Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740, USA