History that Matters:
The Life and Heritage of Science

A Symposium in Celebration of Spencer Weart
and the Center for History of Physics and Niels Bohr Library & Archives

Co-hosted by the American Institute of Physics and the Department of History, University of Maryland

Friday, May 9, 2008 • American Center for Physics, College Park, MD 20740

Spencer WeartThe symposium opened TEST with a stunning announcement: a $3 million gift from the Avenir Foundation to endow the Spencer R. Weart Directorship of the Center for History of Physics. The subsequent presentations by distinguished historians of science were well received by a crowd of scientists, historians and other well-wishers. A panel session featured discussions on the inception, early years, current services and future opportunities of the Center and Niels Bohr Library & Archives, and saluted Spencer Weart’s 35 years as Center Director.

More Program
More Photo Gallery

Featured Speakers
Joseph Anderson · David H. DeVorkin · Ronald E. Doel · H. Frederick Dylla · Gregory A. Good · John L. Heilbron · Gerald Holton · Walter Isaacson · Daniel J. Kevles · Naomi Oreskes · John S. Rigden · Ruth Lewin Sime · James H. Stith · Charles Weiner · Spencer R. Weart

In honor of Spencer Weart, donations may be made to the Center, Library & Archives with acknowledgments on the Symposium program. Please visit www.aip.org/helphistory/.

The American Institute of Physics, Center for History of Physics is qualified as a charitable organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.