Senate Appropriations Committee

Letters have circulated on Capitol Hill urging senators and representatives to demonstrate their support for increased budgets for the DOE Office of Science and the National Science Foundation. Signing these letters to House and Senate appropriators is a well-recognized way of showing such support. Four letters have been submitted: 68 senators signed a letter in support of the Office of Science and 44 senators signed a letter for the NSF.

18 Apr 2008

It is difficult to draw definite conclusions from Energy Under Secretary for Science Ray Orbach's appearance before the Senate Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee last week. While support was expressed for the Office of Science, concerns - similar to those raised by House appropriators - were expressed about proposed cuts to other DOE programs.

9 Apr 2008

The House and Senate have taken their first steps in the FY 2009 appropriations cycle. While the initial targets for proposed science funding are very favorable, the overall picture is considerably more troubled.  As they did last year, the House and Senate are on a pathway to spend more for discretionary programs than what President Bush has proposed, setting up what will in all likelihood be another series of presidential vetoes and an unfavorable appropriations outcome.

27 Mar 2008

The National Science Foundation (NSF) and National Oceanic and Atmospheric   Administration (NOAA) hearing before the Senate Commerce, Justice, Science, and   Related Agencies Subcommittee scheduled for March 13 was cancelled. Sources in   the subcommittee’s office indicated that that day’s heavy voting schedule was   the impetus to cancel the event. At present there is no intention to reschedule   the hearing.

20 Mar 2008

Commerce Secretary Carlos Gutierrez testified before the Senate Commerce,   Justice and Science Appropriations Subcommittee on March 6. While the programs   of the National Institute of Standards and Technology received some notice in   this hearing, other programs of the Commerce Department received considerably   greater, and more critical, attention.

18 Mar 2008

The ITER language in the Explanatory Statement accompanying the FY 2008 Consolidated Appropriations Act was completely unexpected. Appropriators zeroed out the U.S. contribution to ITER for FY 2008, and instructed Department of Energy officials not to shift money from within the Fusion Energy Sciences program to restore this money.        

4 Jan 2008


The Senate is expected to vote on the final passage of the FY 2010 Energy and Water Development Appropriations Bill later this week. When President Obama signs this legislation, the plan to dispose of civilian nuclear waste will shift to a new, and as yet, undefined track.

The initial House and Senate versions of this legislation agreed with the Administration’s request to provide $98.4 million for nuclear waste disposal, as did the final bill. Funding will drop by $47.0 million from last year’s budget of $145.4 million.

6 Oct 2009

The House has approved and sent to the Senate the final version of the FY 2010 Energy and Water Development Appropriations Bill. The Senate should vote on this $33.5 billion bill next week, and the President is expected to sign it.

Total funding increases by less than 1 percent, or $200 million, over last year. The appropriation for the Department of Energy rose to $27.1 billion, an increase of $318 million.

2 Oct 2009

House and Senate conferees have completed work on the final FY 2010 Energy and Water Development Appropriations Bill. The House passed this $33.5 billion legislation today; the Senate may vote next week. At this point in the process, only an up-or-down vote is permitted, so H.R. 3183’s provisions are final. President Obama is expected to sign this legislation.

1 Oct 2009

The Senate Appropriations Committee has reported its FY 2010 Department of Defense Appropriations Bill to the Senate. This legislation is the companion to the bill that passed the House in July.

17 Sep 2009


Subscribe to RSS - Senate Appropriations Committee