Tate Medal Winners


In recognition of her leadership as Spokesperson of the ATLAS international collaboration and as Director-General of CERN in promoting science as a vehicle for broad international cooperation


For his many contributions to the international physics community, including his creation of the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS), his directorship of Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Ontario, Canada, and his many lectures and publications

Jean Trân Thanh Vân

In recognition of his role spanning more than four decades in bringing together the community of physicists across national and cultural borders through the Rencontres de Moriond and Rencontres de Blois, and for his tireless efforts to build a modern scientific community in Vietnam.

Gustav-Adolf Voss

In recognition of his outstanding success in promoting international physics over a long and distinguished career especially for his effective support of Soviet and Eastern European physicists after the breakup of the Soviet Union, his stimulation of the development of accelerator technology throughout Europe, and his leadership in initiating a collaborative facility for synchrotron radiation research in the Middle East

Yu Lu

In recognition of four decades of landmark contributions in bringing together the world's condensed matter physics community, the support of young scientists, the creation of important international conferences, and international statesmanship in theoretical physics

Erio Tosatti

For persistently helping scientists from developing countries and working with them to elevate their research programs to international standards.

Herwig Franz Schopper

For his work as a scientist, as a manager of scientific enterprise, and as a leader in international collaboration.

Willibald Jentschke

In recognition of his leadership in constructing DESY, building it into a truly international center, and integrating Germany into the world community of high-energy and synchrotron radiation physics.

Roald Sagdeev

In recognition of his pivotal contributions to the development of the space physics program in the former Soviet Union and his leadership in supporting and advancing broad internationl cooperation in the study of physical phenomena in space.

Edoardo Amaldi

For his crucial role in the rebuilding of Italian and European physics following the devastating of World War II, for his leadership in the establishment and operation of CERN as a great international laboratory, and for his many other contributions to international physics.