Federation Assembly

AIP Member Sociey logos



The Federation Assembly facilitates federation and Member Society collaboration and collective action, and informs AIP’s work to advance the success of its Member Societies. The Federation Assembly is a mechanism by which Member Societies bring concerns and priorities to the forefront. It makes recommendations to the AIP CEO, advising on federation actions and AIP activities that support the shared mission.

Role and Scope

2022 Federation Assembly Inaugeral Meeting

Inaugural meeting of the Federation Assembly - 2022

The Federation Assembly is a transparent and flexible convening body that enables AIP Member Societies to consult one another and coordinate on issues of shared interest or concern. The Federation Assembly serves as a platform for building a strong, collaborative community that undertakes collective action in pursuit of shared impact. It brings issues and challenges, both external and internal, to AIP’s attention and makes recommendations about areas that AIP and the federation might address. The Federation Assembly also provides insight about how AIP activities affect the Member Societies and shares information about Member Society activities.  

Federation Assembly Delegates represent the interests of their respective Member Societies. The Federation Assembly is not a governing body; it does not have authority to force AIP action, nor does it have financial or fiduciary responsibilities to AIP. Delegates may serve in other roles with responsibilities to AIP, for example as an AIP Board Director or as a Member Society Representative, but those duties do not extend to their Federation Assembly role.  

Each Member Society is a voting member of the Federation Assembly with one vote per Member Society. AIP is represented on the Federation Assembly in a non-voting ex officio capacity.


American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)

  • C. David Gammel, AAPM Executive Director
  • Ehsan Samei, Duke University / 2023 AAPM President

American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)

  • Beth A. Cunningham, AAPT Chief Executive Officer
  • Gabe Spalding, Illinois Wesleyan University / AAPT President-Elect

American Astronomical Society (AAS)

  • Kevin B. Marvel, AAS Executive Officer
  • Louis-Gregory Strolger, Space Telescope Science Institute / AAS At-Large Trustee

ACA: The Structural Science Society

  • Kristin H. Stevens, ACA Executive Director
  • Kushol Gupta, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania / ACA Secretary

Acoustical Society of America (ASA)

  • Susan E. Fox, ASA Executive Director
  • Judy Dubno, Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston / ASA Past President

American Meteorological Society (AMS)

  • Stella Kafka, AMS Executive Director
  • Richard Clark, Millersville University / AMS 2022 President / Federation Assembly 2024 Vice Chair 

American Physical Society (APS)

  • Jonathan A. Bagger, APS Chief Executive Officer
  • Robert Rosner, University of Chicago / APS President / Federation Assembly 2024 Chair

AVS: Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing

  • Yvonne Towse, AVS Chief Operating Officer
  • Amy V. Walker, University of Texas / AVS Past-President / Federation Assembly 2024 Past Chair


  • Liz A. Rogan, Optica Chief Executive Officer
  • Elizabeth Nolan, Deputy Executive Director & Chief Publishing Officer, Optica

Society of Rheology (SOR)

  • Jonathan P. Rothstein, University of Massachusetts, Amherst / SOR President
  • Jeff Morris, CUNY City College of New York / SOR Vice President

American Institute of Physics (AIP-ex-officio)

  • Michael Moloney, Chief Executive Officer
  • David Helfand, Columbia University / AIP Board Chair
  • Liz Dart Caron, Chief of Staff / Interim Federation Assembly Executive Secretary

Governing Documents


For any questions about the Federation Assembly, please contact the AIP Federation Office at [email protected].