Amy V. Walker: 2023 Federation Assembly Chair

Amy V. WalkerAmy V. Walker is the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education in the Erik Jonsson School of Computer Science and Engineering, and a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Texas at Dallas. Amy received her BA(Hons) in Natural Sciences (Experimental and Theoretical Physics) in 1995 and her PhD in Chemistry in 1998 from the University of Cambridge.

She then moved to the USA to become a postdoctoral scholar in the Chemistry department at the University of Pittsburgh. In 2000 she moved as a postdoctoral scholar to Pennsylvania State University. Subsequently in 2002 she joined the Department of Chemistry, Washington University in St. Louis as an assistant professor and inaugural member of the Center for Materials Innovation. In 2009 she joined the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Texas at Dallas as an associate professor and was promoted to professor in 2015.

The ultimate goal of Amy Walker’s research is the development of simple, robust methods for constructing complex two- and three-dimensional nanostructures by manipulating interfacial chemistry. For this work she has been awarded a 2003 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Award, a DuPont Young Professor Grant (2006-2009), a 2008 ACS PROGRESS/Dreyfus Lectureship and a Fellow of the AVS (2015). In 2020 Amy served as the AVS President, and has also held a number of other positions in the AVS including the Chair of the AVS Trustees (AVS Awards Committee) (2018), an AVS Trustee (2016-2018), the Program Chair of the AVS International Symposium and Exhibition (2017; Vice Program Chair in 2016), and director of the AVS (2013-2014).

Talk Title: Federation Assembly 101