Peril and Promise: Impacts of the COVID-19 Pandemic on the Physical Sciences - Panel Members

Julia Phillips (Chair) is director emerita and retired vice president and chief technology officer at Sandia National Laboratories. She is a past president of the Materials Research Society, an AIP Affiliated Society. She currently serves on the National Science Board and is the chair of the Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

Susan K. Avery is president emerita of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI), having served as president from 2008 to 2015. She also is professor emerita at the University of Colorado Boulder (UCB). She currently is serving on several science advisory committees, is chair of the Board of Trustees of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, and serves on the Exxon Mobil Corporation Board of Directors. She is a former president of the American Meteorological Society, an AIP Member Society, and is currently serving on the AIP Board of Directors. 

Jonathan Bagger is director of TRIUMF, Canada’s particle accelerator center. He has served in that role since 2014. Prior to TRIUMF, he served as the Krieger-Eisenhower professor at the Johns Hopkins University, chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, and vice provost for graduate and postdoctoral programs at the Johns Hopkins University.

Philip H. Bucksbaum is the Marguerite Blake Wilbur professor in Natural Science in the Departments of Physics, Applied Physics, and Photon Science at Stanford University and the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. He was the founding director of the Stanford PULSE Institute, where he performs his research. He is former president of OSA and currently serves as president of APS, both AIP Member Societies. 

France Córdova served most recently as the 14th director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), completing her six-year term on March 30, 2020. She is president emerita of Purdue University and chancellor emerita of the University of California, Riverside. Previously, she served as NASA's chief scientist and chair of the Smithsonian Institution’s Board of Regents. 

Eric Isaacs is the 11th president of the Carnegie Institution. Before joining Carnegie in July 2018, Isaacs served at the University of Chicago as the Robert A. Millikan distinguished service professor for the Department of Physics, and the James Franck Institute as the executive vice president for research, innovation, and national laboratories and as provost. Isaacs served as CEO of UChicago Argonne, LLC, vice-chairman of the Board of Governors for Argonne National Laboratory, and currently chairs the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory Scientific Programs Committee at Stanford University.

Victor McCrary is the vice president for research and graduate programs at the University of the District of Columbia. He has held equivalent research executive ​positions at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and at Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD. He was also the business area executive for science & technology at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory. He is a former national president of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) and currently serves as ​the vice chair of the National Science Board.

Robie Samanta Roy is vice president for technology, government affairs at Lockheed Martin Corporation. He has served in this position since March 2019. Previously he served as vice president of technology strategy and innovation at Lockheed Martin and was a professional staff member with the Senate Armed Services Committee from 2010 to 2014. He was the assistant director for space and aeronautics from 2005 to 2009 at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Carl Wieman holds a joint appointment in the Department of Physics and the Graduate School of Education at Stanford University. He is also the DRC professor in the Stanford University School of Engineering. In 2001 he won the Nobel Prize in Physics, along with Eric Cornell and Wolfgang Ketterle, for fundamental studies of the Bose–Einstein condensate. Wieman was nominated to be the White House's Office of Science and Technology Policy associate director of science in 2010 and served there for two years.