Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory E2

Share This


Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory E2

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
The scientific staff of the University of California Radiation Laboratory with magnet of unfinished 60-inch cyclotron
Credit line: 
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, courtesy of AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Fermi Film Collection

The scientific staff of the University of California Radiation Laboratory with magnet of unfinished 60-inch cyclotron (currently the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

(left to right)
Top Row: A. S. Langsdorf, S. J. Simmons, J. G. Hamilton, D. H. Sloan, J. R. Oppenheimer, W. M. Brobeck, R. Cornog, R. R. Wilson, E. Viez and J. J. Livingood,
Middle Row: J. Backus, W. B. Mann, P. C. Aebersold, E. M. McMillan, E. M. Lyman, M. D. Kamen, D. C. Kalbfell and W. W. Salisbury,
Front Row: J. H. Lawrence, R. Serber, F.N.D. Kurie, R. T. Birge, E. O. Lawrence, D. Cooksey, A. H. Snell, L. W. Alvarez and P. H. Abelson.

Photo date: 
August 30, 1938
Original format: 
3 photographic prints (black and white; 10 x 7.5 inches, 9.5 x 7.5 inches and 7.5 x 6 inches)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Langsdorf, Alexander, 1912-
Hamilton, Joseph G. (Joseph Gilbert), 1907-
Sloan, David Harold, 1905-
Oppenheimer, J. Robert, 1904-1967
Brobeck, William Morrison, 1906-
Cornog, Robert A.
Wilson, Robert R., 1914-2000
Livingood, John J. (John Jacob), 1903-
Backus, John
Mann, W. B. (Wilfrid Basil), 1908-2001
Aebersold, Paul C. (Paul Clarence), 1910-1967
McMillan, Edwin M. (Edwin Mattison), 1907-
Lyman, Ernest McIntosh, 1910-1990
Kamen, Martin David, 1913-2002
Salisbury, Winfield W.
Lawrence, John Hundale, 1904-
Serber, R. (Robert)
Kurie, Franz Newell Devereux
Birge, Raymond T. (Raymond Thayer), 1887-
Lawrence, Ernest Orlando, 1901-1958
Cooksey, Donald, 1892-1977
Snell, Arthur H.
Alvarez, Luis W., 1911-1988
Abelson, Philip Hauge