Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

National Academy of Sciences E4

Share This


National Academy of Sciences E4

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
National Academy of Sciences Advisory Committee, October 14, 1964
Credit line: 
AIP Emilio Segre Visual Archives

National Academy of Sciences Advisory Committee, October 14, 1964

Left to Right: Front Row: Brig. General Lee V. Gossick (Commander, AEDC); General B.A. Schriever (Commander, Air Force Systems Command); Dr. B. O'Brien (Chairman, Advisory Committee to Air Force System Command); Dr. W.R. Sears (Director, Graduate School of A.E., Cornell University); Donald R. Eastman (Deputy Chief of Staff, Research, AEDC) and Major J.A. Fiorillo (Research & Technology Division, AFSC).

Second Row: Dr. W.W. Kellogg (Office of Chief Scientist, Lockheed Aircraft Co.); Colonel James O. Cobb (Vice Commander, AEDC); Dr. C. Alley (Panel Member, Advisory Committee to Air Force Systems Command, NAS); Dr. R.E. Hopkins (Director of Institute of Optics, University of Rochester); J. Coleman (Executive Secretary, Division of Physical Sciences, NAS); Dr. E. Wigner (Professor, Math, Physics, Princeton University); K.S. McAlpine (Executive Secretary, Advisory Committee to AF Systems Command, NAS) and Dr. B.H. Goethert (Chief Scientist, Air Force Systems Command).

Back Row: Dr. D.E. MacDonald (Vice President, ITEK Corp); Dr. O.G. Villard (Director of Radioscience Lab., Stanford University); Colonel B.W. Marschner (DCS/Science & Technology, AF Systems Command); Dr. S. MacNeille (Vice President of Research, American Optical Company); Dr. W.P. Raney (Executive Secretary of Undersea Warfare Committee, NAS) and Dr. R.G. Folsom (President, Rensselaer Polytechnical Institute)


Photo date: 
October 14, 1964
Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 10 x 8 inches)
National Academy of Sciences (U.S.)
O'Brien, Brian
Kellogg, William W. (William Welch), 1917-
Hopkins, Robert E. (Robert Earl)
Wigner, Eugene Paul, 1902-1995
Villard, Oswald G.
MacNeille, S. M.
Raney William Perin