Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

More than 30,000 photos of scientists and their work

York Herbert D1

Share This


York Herbert D1

How will you use this image ?
Select one of the following options.
Individual Use
Not-for-profit Use
For-profit Use (educational only)
Not sure yet

We charge a usage fee per photo if the photo is published, reproduced in a product or publicly exhibited. This is not a license in the legal sense. As a non-profit institution, we do not make any money providing these photographs. It is only by assessing usage fees that we are able to cover the cost of providing publication quality copies of our photos, preserving the photograph collection according to archival standards, and providing access to the collection by maintaining an online image database. The copyright holder may charge a fee in addition to our service fee.

Images are for use in educational projects only and must be used in a respectful manner.

Image title: 
Science Advisory Committee 1966
Credit line: 
AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Physics Today Collection

President Lyndon Johnson meets with Science Advisory Committee in Cabinet Room 21 on March 1966. Pictured clockwise from President are Herbert York, Charles Townes, Lewis Branscomb, Richard Garwin, Ivan Bennett, Kenneth Pitzer, Marvin Goldberger, Donald Hornig (chairman of Committee), unidentified member, Franklin Long, unidentified member, J. Robert Schrieffer, Melvin Calvin, unidentified member, William NcElroy, Sidney Drell, Philip Handler and George Pake.

Photo date: 
Original format: 
1 photographic print (black and white; 12 x 7 inches)
York, Herbert F. (Herbert Frank)
Townes, Charles H.
Branscomb, Lewis M., 1926-
Garwin, Richard L.
Bennett, Ivan
Pitzer, Kenneth S.
Goldberger, Marvin L.
Hornig, Donald F., 1920-2013
Schrieffer, J. R. (John Robert), 1931-
Calvin, Melvin, 1911-1997
McElroy, William David
Drell, Sidney D. (Sidney David), 1926-
Handler, Philip, 1917-1981
Pake, G. E. (George Edward)
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973