Past Winners


Robert Street - PARC

For pioneering contributions to the science and technology of hydrogenated amorphous silicon, and the development of flat panel x-ray medical imaging


Larry Hornbeck - Texas Instruments

For his invention and pioneering innovations in both the design and manufacturing of Digital Micromirror Devices (DMDs) integrated into metal-oxide semiconductor (MOS) technology


William A. Edelstein - General Electric Corporate Research & Development Center

For his pioneering developments leading to commercialization of high-resolution Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) for medical applications


Rangaswamy Srinivasan - UVTech Associates (formerly at IBM Research)

For discoveries, inventions, and promotion of ablative photodecomposition for medical and materials applications.


Charles H. Henry - Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies

For fundamental contributions to the understanding of the optical properties of quantum wells and semiconductor lasers.


Stuart S.P. Parkin

International Business Machines - For pioneering discoveries and original device demonstrations on giant magnetoresistive (GMR) read head technology for the magnetic recording industry.


Dan A. Hays - Xerox Corporation, Wilson Center for Research and Technology

For contributions to the physics of xerography resulting in three generations of innovative new copiers and printers.


Mark Ketchen - IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center

For the design and development of integrated superconducting quantum interference devices (SQUIDs) that are the basis for the emerging commercial applications of magnetic sensing, such as biomagnetism, non-destructive testing, and materials characterization.


Leonard S. Cutler, Curt A. Flory, and Robin P. Giffard - Hewlett-Packard Laboratories

For applying a wide range of basic physics and electronics to the design and improvement of frequency and time standards, including a cesium clock introduced in 1992 that is the most accurate, stable, and reliable commercial time-keeping device in the world.


Francois M. d'Heurle - IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

For fundamental discoveries in the materials science of silicide sand metal alloys with significant applications to interconnection technology, leading to improved performance and reliability of integrated circuits.


Rowland W. Redington - General Electric Corporation

For his work on medical diagnostic scanning and imaging devices, resulting in a competitive advantage for his company and improved health care worldwide.


C. Daniel Gelatt, Jr. - Northern Micrographics, Inc.
E. Scott Kirkpatrick - IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

For their discovery and subsequent development of the new method of simulated annealing for the optimization of the physical layout of complex integrated electrical circuits.


John J. Croat and Robert W. Lee - General Motors Research Laboratories

For the discovery of a new high strength permanent magnet alloy, microcrystalline neodymium-iron-boron, and processes for manufacturing permanent magnets for electric motors and other applications.


Joseph E. Killpatrick and Frederick Aronowitz - Honeywell Systems & Research Center

For their leadership of research on the physics of the ring laser gyro and of its successful development into a major product line which has significantly upgraded the performance and utility of inertial guidance systems.


Alec N. Broers - IBM Corporation

For his contributions to the technology of electron beam lithography, for the direct production of integrated circuits, and to the understanding of the resolution limits of electron beam resists.


Andrew H. Bobeck - Bell Laboratories

For his leading role in the invention and development of single-walled magnetic bubble memory devices, which has stimulated new discoveries and understanding in the field of magnetism.


Robert D. Maurer - Corning Glass Works

For contribution made to the practical applications of optical communications through the understanding and discovery of materials and techniques for the fabrication of glass fiber wave-guides.