2016 Physics Nobel Prize Resources from AIP Member Societies

Share this

AIP congratulates David J. Thouless, F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz on their receipt of the Nobel Prize in Physics "for fortheoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter."

Below you will find links to work published in relevant journals.


From AVS: Science & Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing 

Phase transformations of the H/W(110) and H/Mo(110) surfaces
M. Altman, J. W. Chung, P. J. Estrup, J. M. Kosterlitz, J. Prybyla, D. Sahu and S. C. Ying
J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A 5, 1045 (1987)


From the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)

Resource letter CPPPT-1: Critical point phenomena and phase transitions
Jan Tobochnik
Am. J. Phys. 69, 255 (2001)


From The Optical Society (OSA)

Topological-Phase Pioneers Garner Nobel Prize

Path dependence of the geometric rotation of polarization in optical fibers
F. D. M. Haldane
Opt. Lett. 11, 730-732 (1986)


From the American Physical Society (APS)

Quantized Hall Conductance in a Two-Dimensional Periodic Potential
D. J. Thouless, Mahito Kohmoto, MP Nightingale, and M Den Nijs
Physical Review Letters, Phys. Rev. Lett. 49, 405 (1982)


Model for a Quantum Hall Effect without Landau Levels: Condensed-Matter Realization of the "Parity Anomaly"
F.D.M. Haldane
Physical Review Letters, 61 2015 (1988)

Nonlinear Field Theory of Large-Spin Heisenberg Antiferromagnets: Semiclassically Quantized Solitons of the One-Dimensional Easy-Axis Néel State
F. D. M. Haldane
Phys. Rev. Lett. 50, 1153 (1983)


Universal jump in the superfluid density of two-dimensional superfluids
David R. Nelson and J. M. Kosterlitz
Physical Review Letters, 39 1201 (1977)


Quantized hall conductance as a topological invariant
Qian Niu, D. J. Thouless, and Yong-Shi Wu
Physical Review B, 31 3372, 1985


Information on prizes APS has bestowed on the three Laureates:

2000 Lars Onsager Prize: David James Thouless

1993 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize: F. Duncan M. Haldane

2000 Lars Onsager Prize: John Michael Kosterlitz


2016 Physics Nobel Prize Resources →