Department of Energy Science and Innovation Act - H.R.5905

"To authorize basic research programs in the Department of Energy Office of Science for fiscal years 2018 and 2019"
Primary Sponsors
Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX) and Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Final outcome

House passed H.R.5905 by voice vote, June 27, 2018

Summary of Selected Provisions
  • Authorizes fiscal years 2018 and 2019 funding levels for the Department of Energy and its program offices that map largely onto levels already enacted and proposed by House appropriators
  • Provides authorizations for the Office of Science, its program offices, and several initiatives
  • Sets funding fiscal years 2018 and 2019 funding authorizations and target completion dates for the Advanced Photon Source Upgrade, Advanced Light Source Upgrade, the Spallation Neutron Source Proton Power Upgrade and Second Target Station, the Linac Coherent Light Source II High Energy Upgrade, the ITER nuclear fusion project, the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams, and the Long-Baseline Neutrino Facility and Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment
  • Directs DOE to conduct research on the biological effects of low dose radiation
Actions on the House bill
House passed bill by voice vote
June 27, 2018
House Science Committee approved bill
May 23, 2018
Bill introduced
May 22, 2018
Relevant FYI Bulletins

Draft spending bills released by House and Senate appropriators would increase funding for the Department of Energy Office of Science by 5 and 6 percent, respectively, bringing its budget past the $6.6 billion mark. There is general agreement between the chambers that major research facility construction projects should move ahead as fast as possible.

This week, the House Science Committee introduced and approved three bipartisan bills. One authorizes Department of Energy Office of Science programs. A second reauthorizes and broadens the mission of the Advanced Research Projects Agency–Energy — an agency that committee Republicans had not previously backed. A third provides national laboratory directors authority to enter small public–private partnerships without prior DOE approval.