Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

About the prize

Named after Dannie N. Heineman, an engineer, business executive, and philanthropic sponsor of the sciences, the Heineman Prize for Astrophysics was established in 1979, to recognize outstanding work in the field of astrophysics. This joint prize of the American Institute of Physics and the American Astronomical Society is conferred annually and consists of a certificate and $10,000, funded by the Heineman Foundation.

No restrictions are placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residency. The recipient is chosen by a six-member Committee. The prize is awarded at one of the semi-annual meetings of the AAS, where the recipient is invited to deliver a lecture on the subject for which the Prize was awarded. Travel expenses are reimbursed by the American Institute of Physics, also from funds provided by the Heineman Foundation.

See Heineman Prize recipients.