Tate Medal for International Leadership

Tate MedalAbout the Medal

Named for John Torrence Tate in honor of his service to the physics community, the Tate Medal recognizes non-US citizens for international leadership in physics, with an emphasis on leadership, statesmanship, and service to the physics community, as opposed to research achievement. Awarded every two years, it consists of a certificate, a bronze medal, and a $10,000 cash award.


  1. The award is for service to the profession of physics rather than for research accomplishment. Services that further international understanding and exchange are considered to be of primary importance. Examples might be the establishment or improvement of publications, the promotion or administration of joint research projects, or the operation of unusually successful international conferences. A citation on the accompanying certificate will state the particular service for which the award is made.
  2. The recipient is chosen by the Institute's Board of Directors on the recommendation of a committee appointed for the purpose.
  3. The medalist is expected to receive the award in person. Travel expense is reimbursed by the Institute.

Current Tate Medal winner

Fabiola GianottiThe 2018 AIP Tate Medal for International Leadership in Physics has been awarded to Dr. Fabiola Gianotti “in recognition of her leadership as Spokesperson of the ATLAS international collaboration and as Director-General of CERN in promoting science as a vehicle for broad international cooperation.”

» Read the press release.

See past Tate Medal recipients.

Nomination process

The nomination period is now closed. The deadline was October 1, 2018.

Nominations are to be submitted in pdf format via email; include ALL information/attachments in one email:

  1. Letter of nomination
  2. Two letters supporting the nomination
  3. Curriculum vitae of the nominee
  4. Proposed citation for the award

Nomination material should be emailed to the Award Committee Liaison, Steve Mackwell, AIP Deputy Executive Officer, smackwell [at] aip.org.