Senators Endorse $7.5 Billion Budget for NSF

Share This

Publication date: 
18 April 2014

Twenty-one senators signed a letter sent to the senior leadership of the Senate Appropriations Committee endorsing a $7.5 billion budget for the National Science Foundation for FY 2015.  Senate appropriators are working on an expedited schedule to ready the twelve appropriations bills for floor action in June and July; the bill funding NSF will be one of the first to be considered. 

Earlier this month Senator Edward Markey (D-MA) advised his colleagues of a letter that he would send to Senate Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) and Vice Chairman/Ranking Member Richard Shelby (R-AL) urging them to provide $7.5 billion for NSF in the FY 2015 Commerce, Justice, Science Appropriations bill.  Mikulski and Shelby are the leaders of the subcommittee that will draft this bill.

NSF’s current budget is $7,171.9 million.  The Administration’s FY 2015 request is $7,255.0 million, an increase of $83.1 million or 1.2 percent.  

The below senators signed the letter.  Members appreciate being recognized for their actions.

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Cory Booker (D-NJ)
Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Benjamin Cardin (D-MD)
Christopher Coons (D-DE)
Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Kristen Gillibrand (D-NY)
Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Carl Levin (D-MI)
Joe Manchin III (D-WV)
Edward Markey (D-MA)
Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
Jay Rockefeller (D-WV)
Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Mark Warner (D-VA)
Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)