National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Reauthorization Act - H.R.6650 / S.1768

Share This

"A bill to reauthorize and amend the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program, and for other purposes."
Primary sponsors: 
Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA) / Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Latest major action: 
President signed S.1768 into law, Dec. 11, 2018
Committee Reports: 
Summary of provisions
  • Provides the first reauthorization of the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program since 2004
  • Removes references to earthquake prediction in the organic statute, emphasizing instead understanding, forecasting, and early warning
  • Directs the program to publish a "systematic set of maps of active faults and folds, liquefaction suceptibility, susceptibility for earthquace induced landslides, and other seismically induced hazards"
  • Revises the responsibilities of the National Institute of Standards and Technology¬†(the program's lead agency), U.S. Geological Survey, National Science Foundation, and the Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Directs USGS to develop a five-year management plan for the Advanced National Seismic System
  • Directs NIST and FEMA to convene an assessment of seismic building standards
  • Directs the Comptroller General of the United States to conduct a review of risks posed by earthquakes to the United States
  • Through a Senate floor amendment, the final text of S.1768 adopted the text of H.R.6650, which included a higher funding authorization
Actions on the House bill: 
Bill introduced
Aug. 3, 2018
Actions on the Senate bill: 
President signed bill into law
Dec. 11, 2018
House passed bill by voice vote
Nov. 27, 2018
Senate passed bill by unanimous consent
Sept. 27, 2018
Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee approved bill
Dec. 13, 2017
Bill introduced
Sept. 6, 2017