FYI Team

FYI is an editorially independent science policy news service from the American Institute of Physics. FYI also maintains webpages that consolidate information about federal science budgets, legislation, and leaders.

Mitch AmbroseMitch Ambrose

Director of FYI

[email protected]
+1 301-209-3095

Mitch manages AIP’s science policy newsletters and resources. He previously was a fellow at the Science and Technology Policy Institute and worked for the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee. He received a B.S. in physics from the University of Minnesota.


Will ThomasWill Thomas

Senior Science Policy Analyst

[email protected]
+1 301-209-3097

Will earned his B.A. in history from Northwestern University, with a minor in physics, and received a Ph.D. from Harvard University in the history of science. He then held a postdoc position with the AIP Center for History of Physics and was a Junior Research Fellow at Imperial College London, working on the intersections between science and policy. His book, Rational Action: The Sciences of Policy in Britain and America, 1940-1960, was published by MIT Press in 2015.


Andrea Peterson

Science Policy Analyst

[email protected]
+1 301-209-3066

Andrea Peterson is a science policy analyst for FYI. Previously, she was a AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow in the Department of Energy’s Office of High Energy Physics. She holds a Ph.D. in theoretical particle physics from the University of Wisconsin–Madison and a B.A. in physics and mathematics from Harvard University.