Andrew Gemant Award

About the Award

The Andrew Gemant Award recognizes the accomplishments of a person who has made significant contributions to the cultural, artistic, or humanistic dimension of physics and is given annually. The award is made possible by a bequest of Andrew Gemant to the American Institute of Physics.

The awardee receives a $5,000 cash award, designates an academic institution to receive a grant of $3,000 to further the public communication of physics, and is invited to deliver a public lecture in a suitable forum.

Nomination Process

Nominations will open in Fall 2024, for the 2025 Award. (Award suspended for 2024.)     

A cover letter and the nominee's CV are required to complete the nomination. You may also provide up to 3 letters or other documents in support of the nomination. File requirements: .pdf or MS Word .doc or .docx format. Files may not be larger than 100 MB.

» Click here to begin the nomination process »

For more information
Liz Dart Caron
Chief of Staff
(301) 209-3034
[email protected]


The awardee is named by the AIP Board of Directors during the annual spring meeting based on the recommendation of an outside Selection Committee appointed by the Institute's Board Chair. The awardee is chosen based on contributions in one or more of the following areas:

  • Creative work in the arts and humanities that derives from a deep knowledge of and love for physics
  • The interpretation of physics to the public through such means as mass media presentations or public lectures
  • The enlightenment of physicists and the public regarding the history of physics or other cultural aspects of physics
  • Clear communication of physics to students who are learning physics as part of their general education

2023 Gemant Award Winner

Headshot of Sidney Perkowitz

The 2023 Andrew Gemant Award is presented to Sidney Perkowitz for portraying the humanistic dimensions of physics to the public through a creative array of artistic, performance, and educational methods.

» Read the press release.

See all Gemant Award recipients.